Return to Headlines

19th annual Southwest Rotary Classic Preview

The 19th Annual Southwest Rotary Classic basketball tournament will be held Nov. 29 – Dec. 1, 2018 at Cibola High School, Gila Ridge High School, Kofa High School, and Yuma High School. The 14-team field includes schools from Nevada, California and Arizona.

“It’s three days of great basketball, especially for our local teams,” Cibola Athletic Director Brett Pavey said. “It’s always nice to get competition from outside of the area, and the tournament has been an opportunity to showcase some of the better teams from around the Southwest.”

Tickets can be purchased at the gym locations with concessions and souvenirs also available. The “All Tournament Pass” costs $15 and gives spectators access to games at all sites. Single-game tickets are $5 for adults and $1 for students with identification. Children 12 and under with an adult are free. Arizona Interscholastic Association (AIA) passes will be accepted.

The tournament bracket is available on Cibola High School’s website as well as the tournament’s official Facebook page.

All teams play Thursday, Nov. 29 at one of the area schools. Winning teams will advance in the Championship Bracket while losing teams will play in the Consolation Bracket. Each participating school is guaranteed four games.

Desert Oasis High School returns this season seeking a third consecutive tournament title, while four Yuma Union High School District schools are participating. The last YUHSD school to win the tournament was Yuma High in 2008. Three of the past five winners have hailed from Las Vegas.


At Cibola High School
5:30 p.m. Lake Havasu vs. Lincoln County
7:00 p.m. Desert Oasis vs. Tucson
8:30 p.m. Cibola vs. Mountain View Christian

At Gila Ridge High School
5:30 p.m. Shadow Ridge vs. Holtville
7:00 p.m. Gila Ridge vs. Yuma Catholic

At Kofa High School
5:30 p.m. Palo Verde (CA) vs. Kofa

At Yuma High School
6:00 p.m. Dobson vs. Yuma


2000    Cibola High School
2001    Scripps Ranch High School (San Diego)
2002    Palo Verde High School (Las Vegas)
2003    Palo Verde High School (Las Vegas)
2004    Palo Verde High School (Las Vegas)
2005    Canyon Springs High School (Las Vegas)
2006    Canyon Springs High School (Las Vegas)
2007    Kofa High School (Yuma)
2008    Yuma High School (Yuma)
2009    Centennial High School (Las Vegas)
2010    Arbor View High School (Las Vegas)
2011    Basha High School
2012    Vista Grande High School
2013    Centennial High School (Las Vegas)
2014    Cienega High School
2015    Mountain Pointe High School
2016    Desert Oasis High School (Las Vegas)
2017    Desert Oasis High School (Las Vegas)

Eric Patten