Return to Headlines

Vista High School celebrates its 2021 winter graduation

Desi Suares speaks at graduationVista High School held its annual winter graduation on Thursday, Dec. 16, 2021 in Snider Auditorium on the Yuma High School campus.

Yuma Union High School District Governing Board President Phil Townsend confirmed the group of 42 graduates prior to the distribution of their diplomas. YUHSD Governing Board Vice President Shelley Mellon, Board Members Carlos Gonzalez and Jacqueline Kravitz, Superintendent Gina Thompson, and Associate Superintendent Lisa Anderson were also on-hand to represent the district.

“Sitting here right now is a big accomplishment for each and every one of us,” said VHS senior Desi Suares, who was an early graduate and one of two students to speak at the ceremony. “We all worked so hard throughout our days of high school. We’ve gone through many difficult times, and still made it through. Being here today we represent the characteristics of being ambitious, confident, and responsible.”

In addition to Suares, senior Edgar Ramirez also spoke to his fellow seniors. VHS Principal Brett Surguine delivered the final speech to graduates, imploring them to acknowledge their accomplishment through difficult and unprecedented circumstances.

“You came with dream alive. You made it happen,” Surguine implored his students. “You had setbacks. It would have been easy to give up, but you fought in your own way. You kept giving your best for as long as it took. With all of your heart, you earned this. Because you fought, you are strong and that feeling of pride and strength keep it close and let it propel you forward.”

The commencement ceremony can be viewed in its entirety on YUHSD’s YouTube page here:

Here is complete list of this year’s VHS winter graduates:

Stephanie Alatorre
Ricardo Barajas-Vigil
Aziel Beltran Herrera
Honesty Neidine Carrillo
Samantha Danizza Castillo-Berrelleza
Eduardo Carlos Cebreros Payanes
Jonathan Alan Coronel
Odalis Gabriela Duran Valdovines
Diego Flores Resendez
Kenia Michelle Galindo
Melina Anisa Garcia
Viannka Bettzaira Gonzalez Garcia
Sebasthian Damian Gonzalez
Denisse Rashel Hernandez
Mikeal Mathew Hunter
Jesus Jimenez Gastelum
Stefani Lara
Dhamian Lugo
Yazmin Macias Flores
Anthony Louis Madison
Anne Marie Meza
Karol Anahi Miranda Soto
Jaylene Monzon Rivera
Ryan Glenn Nelson
Irie Dyanne Olague
Gissel Aidil Olmedo
Jacqueline Pimentel
Anastasia Cathleen Perez
Perla Alejandra Quinones
Edgar Ramirez
Alexander Yoshiki Regonini
Damian Naman Reyes
Angel Joel Rico II
Savannah Yvette Roberto
Eugenio Rodriguez Gonzalez
Juan Carlos Ruiz
Jesus Enrique Sanchez Guillen
Diego Ivan Smith
Desiray Monique Suares
Alexandra Noemi Woolfolk
Cesar David Zaragoza Franco
Adilene Edith Zavaleta Alvarado

Eric Patten