Return to Headlines

Vista High School celebrates 2021 spring graduation

Vista High School held its annual spring graduation on Wednesday, May 19, 2021 in the Gila Ridge High School Auditorium.

Yuma Union High School District Governing Board Vice President Shelley Mellon confirmed the group of graduates prior to the distribution of their diplomas. YUHSD Associate Superintendent Tim Brienza also represented the district on the stage alongside VHS Principal Brett Surguine and VHS Counselor Yanet Jimenez-Lucero.

“I know when I first came to Vista, I was missing credits and not showing interest in my education,” said VHS senior Aileen Garcia, who was one of two student speakers at the commencement. “But [the Vista staff] was always there to keep me on track and told me graduating was my only option.”

In addition to Garcia, senior Osbaldo Valenzuela Marin also spoke to his fellow seniors. Principal Brett Surguine provided the final speech to graduates, imploring them to acknowledge their accomplishment through difficult and unprecedented circumstances.

“Vista's graduates have been focused and motivated throughout the school year,” Surguine said. “They have pressed on despite setbacks. They have worked hard to earn their diploma. We are happy to see these young men and women achieve their goals and are grateful to have the opportunity to celebrate their achievements.”

The commencement ceremony can be viewed in its entirety on Vista High School’s website:

Here is complete list of this year’s VHS spring graduates: 

Aileen Aranda

Brianna Barbara Palma

Dillon Ray Blomquist

Osvaldo Sevastian Pozo

Kavari Zaire Brown

Aaron Rascon

Omar Cazares

Diana Janessa Robledo Avila

Promesa Delgado

Daniel Rubalcava

Jessalyn Cassandra Figueroa

Crystal Rubio

Patty Annalee Flesher

Anthony Angel Salas-Corona

Isaac Askary Forrey

Christian Aaron Sanchez-Varela

Aaron Julius Gammel

Larla Inah Thompson

Genevieve Garcia Lopez

Ricky Torres

Aileen Garcia

Osbaldo Valenzuela Marin Jr

Melanie Juliana Lara

Brianna Arlene Valtierra

Anisa Lorena Marquez

Valeria Vargas

Samuel Meza Ruiz

Maxiumus Odysses Vasquez

Daniela Denisse Molina Hernandez

Breanna Yulyza Velasco

Victor Jacob Moreno Jr

Criton Robert Chance Williamson

Anthony Muñoz

Ivan Enrique Woolfolk Jr

Amillyona Francisca Neal

Ciena Zepeda Castillo

Daisy Jo Palacio

Eric Patten