Return to Headlines

Vista High School celebrates 2019 Spring Graduation

Wednesday, May 22, 2019 was an evening filled with great weather and a beautiful sky; a perfect setting for the graduating Class of 2019 from Vista High School. Photo by Syhel Rodriguez. Students from VHS Class of 2019 await start of graduation.

A video of the ceremony in its entirety is available on Yuma Union High School District’s YouTube channel and Vista’s official website. Photographs of individual graduates will be posted on the Vista High School Facebook page.

Honorable Justice Andrew Gould traveled from Phoenix to provide the keynote address with the new graduates and remind them that sometimes life will change your plans, but to always keep moving forward. This was Justice Gould’s third time serving as keynote speaking for VHS at graduation and he said he enjoys the positive feeling of seeing the students graduate after much hard work and to also see their family come forward to support them at this milestone.  The 2018-19 VHS Student Council presented a gift for Justice Gould to thank him for making time and sharing his wisdom with them on their memorable evening. 

Wednesday’s celebration was one of Vista’s largest graduations with 70 students receiving their diplomas.

VHS Principal Brett Surguine, who was hosting his first spring graduation at Vista, said, “The 2019 Vista graduates have shown grit and resilience. They have fought their way back after setbacks and I am proud of their successes and am honored to have had the privilege to work with them this year.”

Honored guests included YUHSD Governing Board President Phillip Townsend, Board Members Jacqueline Kravitz and Shelley Mellon, YUHSD Superintendent Gina Thompson along with Associate Superintendents Lisa Anderson and Tim Brienza.

Here are the students who make up Vista High School’s class of 2019:

Edgar Acosta-Heras

Angel De Jesus Davila

Luis Fernando Aguilar

Laisha Destiny Alva

Israel Lee Amadisto

Yiriana Arellano Cabrera

Anthony James Bustos

Rubi Cabrera

Adam Xavier Camarillo

Alfredo Robledo Carrillo

Mariela Cazares Medina

Italieth Corona

Yael Coronado Garcia

Joel Coronel

Kaylyn Nicole DeCorse

Nathalie Delgado

Bryan Jesus Escamilla

David Ali Estrada

Gabriel Deangelo Fisher

Erick Flores

Domingo Flores Delgado

Adrian David Gamez

Bryce Lindsay Gannon

Natali Gaona Garcia

Jose Pablo Garcia Quiroz

Angel Alexander Gomez

Ariana Gonzalez

Mathew Ray Hartlage

Dario Hernandez

Esmeralda Hernandez

Carlos Hernandez-Rios

Lilyann Hurtado Navarro

Itzel Ibarra Rodriguez

Christian Juarez Valenzuela

Ayanna Renee Laguna

Bryan Joseph Lange Jr

Bryan Eduardo Lara Luna

Humberto Alexis Lopez

Javier Jose Lopez

Severo Angel Lopez

Angel Luis Luera

Jhoanna Martinez Garcia

Isaac Alejandro Mejia

Jose Abraham Mendoza

Shanna Theresa Miller

Sierra Dawn Mitchell

Lydia Ruby Moran

Alexia Isabel Muñoz

Esmeralda Nuñez C

Francisco Ortiz Beltran

Diego Perez

Arlyne Perpuly Heredia

Emeral Jasmine Ramirez

Alberto Rios-Lara

Chelsey Yelena Rodriguez

Aaron Rodriguez Perez

Juan Rodriguez Gonzalez

Marley Rosales

Leonel Adrian Rubalcaba

Cooper Stephen Slaughter

Leslie Yared Sauceda

Bianca Sauceda Hernandez

Austin Sly Smith

Jose Leonardo Soto Vega

Joseph Earl Theobald Jr

Lorena Isabel Urquijo

Jonathan Jose Velez

Kimberly Dalila Velez

Zion Carillo White

Kobe James Young


Christopher Franey