Teaching & Learning

  • Our district-wide curriculum supports the comprehensive high school model. Cibola, Gila Ridge, Kofa, San Luis and Yuma High Schools offer well-rounded programs designed to prepare the student for entry into college or university, for continued vocational training, and for productive citizenship. Vista School is an alternative education setting designed to reach out to all students who seek to learn, grow and succeed. The school is available to Yuma Union High School District students with special circumstances or needs on a self-selected basis. For a full description of the courses offered here at Yuma Union High School District, you can view them below:

    Programs of Study

    The selection of an appropriate program of study is an important decision which requires direct involvement of the counselor, teachers, parents, and student. The purpose is to plan a challenging, goal-oriented four-year high school program. This graduation plan should be carefully developed in order to meet both graduation requirements and fulfill student educational goals.

    NOTE: Some courses are taught at only one school, due to facility and/or equipment limitations. Students from one campus may enroll in a course taught on another, if scheduling permits. Students who wish to take a class at another school and can work it into their schedules must provide their own transportation.

     

Teaching & Learning Personnel

 Lisa Anderson

Phone:

Email:

Degrees and Certifications:

Lisa Anderson

Associate Superintendent
Email: landerson@yumaunion.org
Phone: (928) 502-4652

 Tim Brienza

Phone:

Email:

Degrees and Certifications:

Tim Brienza

Associate Superintendent
Email: tbrienza@yumaunion.org
Phone: (928) 502-4671

 Eric Brooks

Phone:

Email:

Degrees and Certifications:

Eric Brooks

Chief Academic Officer
Email: ebrooks@yumaunion.org
Phone: (928) 502-4687
Webpage: Ready Now Yuma

 Christal Buckley

Phone:

Email:

Degrees and Certifications:

Christal Buckley

AVID, District Coordinator
Teaching & Learning Coordinator - YHS
Email: cbuckley@yumaunion.org
Phone: (928) 502-5045

 Melissa Ellegood

Phone:

Email:

Degrees and Certifications:

Melissa Ellegood

Director, Educational Technology/Learning Management
Email: mellegood@yumaunion.org
Phone: (928) 502-4685

 Jesus Garcia

Phone:

Email:

Degrees and Certifications:

Jesus Garcia

Data Associate 
Email: jgarcia2@yumaunion.org
Phone: (928) 502-4684

 Brenda Higuera

Phone:

Email:

Degrees and Certifications:

Brenda Higuera

Administrative Assistant 
Email: bhiguera@yumaunion.org
Phone: (928) 502-4652

 Rita Spriggel

Phone:

Email:

Degrees and Certifications:

Rita Spriggel

Administrative Secretary 
Email: rspriggel@yumaunion.org
Phone: (928) 502-4672

 Elvia Young

Phone:

Email:

Degrees and Certifications:

Elvia Young

Director, Research & Data Analysis
Email: eyoung@yumaunion.org
Phone: (928) 502-4686