Guidance Department

  • Sometimes we all need a little help to make sure our education is progressing the way we want it to be. Our guidance center provides students with the support and information they need to make decisions for their future. Please check this page for the latest on what's going on in the world of education. We invite you contact the guidance counselor appropriate for your grade level (see below) with any questions you may have. You may also contact the guidance secretary at (928) 502-5557.

Graduation Requirements


  • High School Graduation Requirements:
     University Requirements:
    • 4 Credits of English  
    • 4 Credits of Math
    • 3 Credits of Lab Science  
    • 3 Credits of Social Science
    • 1 Credit of PE and/or Health
    • 1 Credit of Fine Arts and/or CTE
    • 6 Credits of Electives
    • 4 Credits of English 
    • 4 Credits of Math
    • 3 Credits of Lab Science
    • 2 Credits of Foreign Language
    • 1 Credit of Fine Arts
    • ACT and/or SAT Test Scores

Guidance Counselors

 Kathy Ingersoll

Phone:

Email:

Degrees and Certifications:

Kathy Ingersoll

10th-12th Grade (Last Names: L-M)

Guidance Director

EMAIL: kingersoll1@yumaunion.org

 Irma Lara

Phone:

Email:

Degrees and Certifications:

Irma Lara

All Grades (Last Names: A-C)*

*Except freshmen B-C

EMAIL: ilara@yumaunion.org

 Denise Avalos-Lopez

Phone:

Email:

Degrees and Certifications:

Denise Avalos-Lopez

All Students (Last Names: D-K)*

*Except freshmen G

EMAIL: davalos@yumaunion.org

 Carmen Muñoz

Phone:

Email:

Degrees and Certifications:

Carmen Muñoz

All Grades (Last Names: N-R)

EMAIL: cmunoz@yumaunion.org

 Jeri Taylor

Phone:

Email:

Degrees and Certifications:

Jeri Taylor

All Grades (Last Names: S-Z)

EMAIL: jtaylor@yumaunion.org

 Magnolia Alonzo

Phone:

Email:

Degrees and Certifications:

Magnolia Alonzo

9th Grade (Last Names: B, C, G, L, M)

Scholarships / Testing

EMAIL: malonzo@yumaunion.org

 Martin Lara

Phone:

Email:

Degrees and Certifications:

Martin Lara

Special Services

EMAIL: mlara@yumaunion.org

 Chris Reese

Phone:

Email:

Degrees and Certifications:

Chris Reese

Dropout Prevention Specialist

EMAIL: creese@yumaunion.org

 Malena Chavez-Corbitt

Phone:

Email:

Degrees and Certifications:

Malena Chavez-Corbitt

Guidance Secretary

KHS Guidance Team 2018